McCain is Clueless About Condoms

March 17, 2007 at 8:50 am 4 comments

John McCain delivered anything but “straight talk” when asked about contraceptives. He claimed to not be very familiar with the contraceptives and how the can prevent teen pregnancies and HIV infections. This dolt wants to be president and he doesn’t have a know about a basic and life-saving HIV prevention method? Senator please! Then, he says that he relies on gay-hating abstinence only cheerleader Senator Tom Coburn for information about these issues.

From the New York Times blog:

Q: “What about grants for sex education in the United States? Should they include instructions about using contraceptives? Or should it be Bush’s policy, which is just abstinence?”

Mr. McCain: (Long pause) “Ahhh. I think I support the president’s policy.”

Q: “So no contraception, no counseling on contraception. Just abstinence. Do you think contraceptives help stop the spread of HIV?”

Mr. McCain: (Long pause) “You’ve stumped me.”

Q: “I mean, I think you’d probably agree it probably does help stop it?”

Mr. McCain: (Laughs) “Are we on the Straight Talk express? I’m not informed enough on it. Let me find out. You know, I’m sure I’ve taken a position on it on the past. I have to find out what my position was. Brian, would you find out what my position is on contraception – I’m sure I’m opposed to government spending on it, I’m sure I support the president’s policies on it.”

Q: “But you would agree that condoms do stop the spread of sexually transmitted diseases. Would you say: ‘No, we’re not going to distribute them,’ knowing that?”

Mr. McCain: (Twelve-second pause) “Get me Coburn’s thing, ask Weaver to get me Coburn’s paper that he just gave me in the last couple of days. I’ve never gotten into these issues before.”

snip

His press secretary, Brian Jones, later reported that Mr. McCain had a record of voting against using government money to finance the distribution of condoms.

Much love: Americablog

Entry filed under: 2008 Election, Campaigns, Conservatives, John McCain, LGBT, Politics, Republicans. Tags: .

Guiliani “America’s Mayor?” Bush Opposes DC Voting Rights

4 Comments Add your own

  • [...] are Condoms? By BRAYDEN McCain is Clueless About Condoms « Bloggernista: This entry is filed under Culture War. You can follow any responses to this entry through the [...]

    Reply
  • 2. Pasquale Dargis  |  April 25, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Well this is very fascinating indeed. Would really like to read just a little more of this. Fantastic post. Thanks for the heads-up…This blog was really illuminating and knowledgeable…

    Reply
  • 3. Ronald Curles  |  April 4, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Hey not to go off topic but can anyone give me overview of. New York Car Insurance Reform 295 Greenwich St, New York, NY 10007 (646) 351-0824 They’re just down the block from me. I was wondering if they were a good insurance agency. I need to acquire coverage, it is the law you know, but I need to have a good price price plus I want friendly service.

    Reply
  • 4. Lynette  |  November 13, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site. You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange
    for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested.
    Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AddThis Feed Button
Political Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 819,043 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

