Being Gay is a Gift From God

January 14, 2009 at 1:28 pm 41 comments

Being gay is indeed a gift from God. And, the fact that not one, but two, ministers affirmed this on Oprah is amazing.

We too often hear religious leaders denigrating LGBT and attempting to scapegoat us for everything they see wrong with the world.

To have these men state clearly and unequivocally that being gay is a gift from God is something that gay and straight people need to hear again and again.

Entry filed under: LGBT, Religion, Television, Video, YouTube. Tags: , , , .

Equality Matters: Online March for LGBT Equality “Domestic Partnership” Does Not Equal Marriage

41 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sozo  |  January 19, 2009 at 5:14 am

    Thank you so much for post, I have been looking (obviously not hard enough) for this clip. Thank You, Thank You!

    Reply
  • 2. phil_in_ny  |  January 21, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    You know, I didn’t see one mention of Gene Robinson during the Inauguration coverage yesterday.

    Reply
  • 3. Billy  |  February 6, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Thank you!

    Reply
  • 4. Slrman  |  February 7, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    This is amusing. It has been religion that has condemned gays for thousands of years. Now this guy is saying they have all been wrong all this time. No wonder so many that can think for themselves see how ridiculous all religions are.

    Reply
  • 5. Murray Downie  |  February 13, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Religions can be ridiculous Sirman. But it is who you follow that makes the difference not what you follow. I am Gay and also follow Jesus. If you were to read the Bible you would find that the religious people of the day called him a drunkard mixing with low life like prostitutes and tax collectors (who in Jerusalem were considered the lowest of low because they worked for the Romans collecting taxes for caesar).He was later taken by the so called religious heads and crucified (which was the worst form of death imposed on anybody in those days). He did this to give me a life of freedom. To be free as a gay man. i once felt like you that no one would take me in. I worship with a wonderful group of people who know that I am gay and love me as I am. I know that I am blessed this way as most Religions!!!! feel otherwise. Remember he said come unto me all ye that are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest. i am not a young person and have been gay as far back as i can remember. I know where I am going and rest in my Jesus now.
    Murray

    Reply
  • 6. Slrman  |  February 13, 2009 at 6:35 am

    Come on Murray, I know a lot of gay people and even have a close relative that is openly gay. I am not ignorant of the gay community or lifestyle, as you will.

    Being gay has nothing to do with any religion. Being religious has to do either with the inability to think for oneself or being part of the greatest scam ever worked on humanity.

    FYI, there is more evidence for the existence of unicorns than there is for the existence of any “god”. In fact, the very existence of Jesus is questionable. The christians have made up so much out of a desire to conquer the world that nothing they say can be accepted without solid proof. That’s something no religious wing nut can provide or will even attempt to provide.

    Reply
  • 7. Murray Downie  |  February 13, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Sirman not only does the bible give the evidence of Jesus but you can check on the historian Josephus who wrote about the time of Jesus does make mention of him. I do realise that that being Gay has nothing to do with religion. I do not use my belief as a crutch as you seem to think we do. I have a very personal walk with my Lord. I have been openly Gay for 50 years. Life is wonderful every day but I am not afraid of death. Are you. We are born to die.I do not believe that such a wonderful creation as the human person is made to live for an average of 70 years then oblivion. Where will you spend eternity. I love you as a brother not to ask you this
    Murray

    Reply
  • 8. Slrman  |  February 13, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    The bible? You insult my intelligence. Do you think the bible was an email from god? It was written by men and altered by men countless times through the centuries by intent, errors in translation, and political ends.

    You are free to believe whatever nonsense you choose, but like all christians, you are not happy unless you can impose your twisted beliefs on others, often by force or threat of force.

    All religions were invented by men so one small group of people could control the thoughts and actions of a large group of people.

    If you ever come up with any proof of any god with something like fact, logic and verifiable evidence feel free to continue. Until then, kindly keep you aberrations to yourself.

    Reply
  • 9. axeman  |  February 13, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Wow……………….so much hate!

    Reply
  • 10. Slrman  |  February 13, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Do not mistake disgust and revulsion for hate. I do not hate religious people. They are beneath hate. True I do not like it when they force their beliefs on others by enacting them into law or exerting unfair sociological pressures. Gay people should appreciate that even more than most.

    Nor should anyone mistake a straightforward statement of observed behavior for insults. If you do not like the statement, change the behavior.

    Ask yourself, how would you feel if I caused my personal beliefs, that may be contrary to yours into law and forced you to adhere to them by threat of violence? That is, the threat of arrest and imprisonment. Yes, this is happening today in the here and now.

    Reply
  • 11. Jim  |  February 13, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    I’m a Christain and proud Homo’s Hate me because I am. God loves us all but hates the Homo lifestyle, so do I. Homo’s sicken our nation but in Heaven they cannot enter. That’s got to be Heaven. Not wise to trade off Heaven cheapy for this lifestyle.

    Reply
  • 12. Slrman  |  February 13, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    What sickens our nation is the prejudice and discrimination fostered by religion. Humanity will never be free until it shakes off the oppressive yoke of religion and emerges into the mental sunshine of logic and reason.

    Too bad that, when you die, you will not even be disappointed that you have wasted so much of your life on religion. You won’t even experience the nothingness of death, you will simply cease to be. Anyone that says they know otherwise and can prove it is either a liar or a fool.

    Reply
  • 13. Jim  |  February 13, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Doing evil cannot defeat evil. Freedom can never be.You use the words prejudice and discrimation like a powerful key from the mind to lock out life’s blood (truth) to the heart. Logic and reason can make a head swell but never big enough against God’s Way. Only when the eye’s leak for true life will the head not swell. It’s your choice to sell out heaven so cheaply with this lifestyle but why force your sick way’s that makes our world sicker to live in?

    Reply
  • 14. Slrman  |  February 14, 2009 at 5:26 am

    There IS NO GOD. Do you have some mental defect that keeps you from understanding that?

    Let’s try a little experiment. Offer some proof there is a god, Anything you choose, and I will disprove it quickly and easily.

    I suspect you will not accept this offer of honest debate and instead, continue to spout your nonsensical dogma.

    If you are so confident, accept some honest discussion instead of trying to stifle all dissent.

    Reply
  • 15. Jim  |  February 14, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Mental defect, Intellect, Proof, Understanding, debate. All temporal Brain food. Where is your brain? I don’t see your brain. I have never heard your brain, felt your brain, touched or smelled your brain? According to the established rules of empirical, stable, demonstrable protocol, science says that you have no brain. Science is always trying to make a monkey out of us. Only thing got from a monkey is thought where Aids come from. This sickness carries death to many. But I’m not tricked by scienist. I choose to believe you have a brain and welcome honest discussions. We can’t feel God or smell him but He’s there.
    Proof, investigate Jesus Christ… God does not force us to believe in him, though he could. Instead, he has provided sufficient proof of his existence.
    The earth’s perfect distance from the sun, the unique chemical properties of water, the human brain, DNA, the number of people who attest to knowing God, the gnawing in our hearts and minds to determine if God is there, the willingness for God to be known through Jesus Christ. Yes Jesus my Lord and my God took our place that we might have life more abundantly. ludicrous? Perhaps, but many loving fathers would gladly trade places with their child in a cancer ward if they could.

    Reply
  • 16. Slrman  |  February 14, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    JIm (my name, too) every post you make is more incoherent than the last. Anyone’s brain (except maybe yours) can be seen and examined via a catscan, MRI, or even X-Ray. Not to mention surgery.

    Ou are a fool and have no facts, logic or intelligence. Why don’t you just go to the church of your choice and waste the rest of your life praying to a non-existent father-figure.

    Not one thing you have said even makes sense, much less proves the existence of a god.

    Nothing you posted here even remotely realtes to the discussion. Show some proof or STFU

    Reply
  • 17. Jim  |  February 14, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Neat, Your name Jim also. I don’t get angry enough to get mean Sir and so your wasting your time if your trying to provoke me. Your right about the Catscan to reveal. You accept a Catscan and believe there is a brain but reject directions of a higher Catscan to God. You are sick in bed and need to follow the Doctors directions to walk in the newness of life. Rejecting a Doctors direction is not good but your choice. I’m sorry that in life’s storms has hardened your heart to trust intellect over faith. If I was there early in your life I would sure try to find someway to help that you might be free from some terrible storms that your choice could of been one of life.

    Reply
  • 18. Slrman  |  February 14, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    I am right about the cat scan and I am right about there being no god.
    I have no storms in my life. I live in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with a loving wife. we have the best climate on earth and have a wonderful life in a beautiful building with all we could ask.

    What my heart is hardened to is the idiocy of religion. Don’t you understand that all religions were created by men so one small group could control the thoughts and actions of a large group? No, I don’t think you can understand that. It is more comfortable for you to believe lies than to think for yourself.

    It is significant to anyone that can reason even with a little logic that you evade direct questions and challenges to prove even one tiny article of your “faith”. Could that be because, at some level, you know you have nothing that can prove anything? If so, there may be hope for you. Try asking yourself simple questions like; “Why am I supposed to fear god if he loves me and forgives everything?” “Why are so many things in religion contradictory and illogical?”

    I know that clear thinking hurts at first. Thinking for yourself is uncomfortable. So many things that you accepted start to reveal themselves to be false. But, after you emerge from the darkness of the superstitious brainwashing into the clear light of reason, you will feel truly free for the first time in your life.

    I know that it’s scary at first. you think, “Can all of those people actually be wrong?” “Why was I not able to see this before?” But the answers are there and very simple. It is centuries of social conditioning and mind control by those who would prevent you from ever being free.

    Then they can continue to have their $3,000 suits, private jets, and multi-million dollar homes. Even your own bible says, “It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than a rich ma to enter into the kingdom of heaven.” Why are all the important religious “leaders” rich and most of their followers poor? Because they have them contributing their resources to keep them rich and the followers poor. Then they tell them that it’s the way to be.

    Early in my life I had many people trying to suck me into the theist trap. But fortunately, I learned to think for myself at an early age and rejected all of the lies and mind games. I have been a better, more moral person for it. You can be too.

    Reply
  • 19. Jim  |  February 14, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    No storms of life, must be nice. I’m very tored up from being in the Air Force and have no rich look, believe me. I don’t want your money or control. I am about my Fathers business.
    Many contradictions and illogical thoughts has born religions, True. But none can be found in the Bible, True. Show me one.
    To fear God means have reverence to Him. My kids reverence me, not because they are afraid of me but because I say a fire burns and they know it and don’t jump into the fire.
    I agree about the $3,000 suits is sickening. I even heard about a Air Conditioned Dog House. Sick. and money being spent on whore’s. Many shall come to me in that day and say look Lord what I have done and the Lord will say go away I never knew you. Yes it’s good that you don’t reward these false teachers. Haven’t they took enough? Why must you allow false teachers to drag you to the same place they are going?

    Reply
  • 20. Slrman  |  February 15, 2009 at 6:02 am

    I didn’t say I have never had any storms in life. I have had plenty. But I have never been so weak that, like a child, I had to use an imaginary friend to get through them.

    I don’t have a lot of money, either. I live on a very small retirement income. But you do not have to have a lot of money to live well. You only need to focus on what is really important in life. That’s your health, family, and friends. everything else is transient.

    You are about your father’s business? I think you are about what other people have told you to do disguising it as “god’s word”. Neither you, they or anyone else have ever spoken with, or received a message from any god. Anyone that says they have either has a serious mental problem or is simply lying.

    Show you illogical thoughts and inconsistencies in the bible? There are so many, where do you want me to start? Where it says that slavery is OK? where human sacrifices are demanded? Where “god” kills people because he “loves” them? Just give me a clue where you want me to start. Apparently, you have never really read the bible, but only selected portions as directed by others and accepted their interpretation without question.

    I have worked as a writer and trainer most of my life, so words and their meanings are very important to me. “Fear” and “reverence” mean far different things. If someone has told you they are the same, they probably lied to you about other things, too.

    “Why must you allow false teachers…?” That is exactly what you are doing. You are permitting them to take control of your life and waste your substance supporting them and helping to further their scams.

    Still, you continue to evade my central question. Show me one bit of proof there is any god at all. Much less an omnipotent father-figure in the sky that knows all and can be persuaded to intervene in the lives of humans. When you refuse to even acknowledge the question, you are admitting that you know you have no answer.

    From your writing, I suspect English is not your native language. If it is, you would be better off spending your time improving your English than wasting your resources in religion.

    While this has been mildly entertaining to me, it is becoming boring because it is far too easy. Unless you have something more substantial to offer than parroted religious phrases, don’t bother replying.

    Reply
  • 21. Jim  |  February 15, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Sorry my english is too poor and my words won’t bow to worship your brain. No matter how much you shame and degrade me I will never stoop that low to worship your brain as you do. Makes you mad but I have a backbone for God as our forefathers had who started our nation with in God we Trust.. Our nation was so blessed but now fatheads like yourself is destoying our nation with perversion to exalt the flesh. You are ungrateful, unholy, haters of good, reckless, and conceited, just like what my Father in Heaven told me that in the last days men will become. God tells me I have done my job and to stay away from you as you requested.
    Where human sacrifices are demanded, all I found in God’s Word is where God told Abraham to sacrifice Isaac. But this was only a test, God stopped Abraham from sacrificing Isaac. You have wrongfully judged God as nothing and deserve nothing else from me.

    Reply
  • 22. Slrman  |  February 15, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Just as I thought. You evade all direct questions and attack the messenger. This is the mark of an intellectual and moral coward. Again I ask, show me one shred of proof that there is a god.

    Tell me what part of the bible you want me to show you inconsistencies and illogical statements. One illogical statement of yours is that you “hate the gay lifestyle”. Show me where in the bible it tells you to do that.

    As always, you ignore direct questions and waste your and my time on things that are unrelated to the discussion.

    What has happened to you to make you such a coward about discussing religion? Will you ever answer even one direct question instead of spouting religious psycho-babble? Surprise me, just once.

    Reply
  • 23. Jim  |  February 15, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Sorry if you felt attacked as I growled when I felt pulled to worship that which not to worship.
    I gave you a direction to find God yourself through your heart but you keep trying to find him with your mind. God is not flesh and bone but Spirit and truth. Asking for proof to that which would please your nose, ears, brain, or eyes is a foolish request. God is Spirit and no man may enter His presence in their sinful state. Jesus is the only Way to Heaven for those who trust Him.
    Homosexuality is in fact a very great sin before a Holy God. If you
    want to know what God thinks about the sin of homosexuality, just look back
    in the Bible in the Old Testament. What happened to the City of Sodom?
    God is still God. God has not changed. God still thinks such homosexual
    sin is evil, that it is in fact an “abomination” before God. Read (1 Co 6:9-10)
    Yes I hate the Gay Lifestyle because it is a great sin that will deliver one to eternal shame, a place of great torment prepared For the Devil and it’s Demons. I don’t like no-one to go there. God sends people there because they reject His Way to life. The Lord tells us to hate Sin and a Gay lifestyle is sin. So YuK.
    In the End, Love Wins.

    Reply
  • 24. Slrman  |  February 16, 2009 at 6:06 am

    You have never read the bible have you? In the old testament, there is no mention of homosexuality in Sodom. Only “great wickedness” All the rest was an invention of the people who are telling you what to think.

    You continue to evade the questions and spout psycho-babble nonsense. Everything you think is sin is also invention of people that wish to control everything you think, do, and say.

    This conversation is finished because you are a fool that will never learn to think for himself. If it’ any consolation to you, this may become a chapter in my book, “Conversations, With Fools”.

    Continue to waste you worthless life. Bore everyone you can and, when you die, you will not awake in heaven or hell, you will simply cease to be. The world will be a better place for that.

    Reply
  • 25. Jim  |  February 16, 2009 at 6:54 am

    In God’s Word He declares your a fool and I agree. A fool hath said in his heart there is no God. You sicken our land with the worship of your meathead and beleive there’s no punishment to that which makes good people suffer so.
    Folks who read this I hope you choose life. Stand up for Jesus or fall for anything…. Amen

    Reply
  • 26. Gigi  |  February 18, 2009 at 9:25 am

    This Sirman is really stuck on Himself. What a mind full of Vanity. In the last days men will become lovers of theirselves. I love Jesus and it’s what He done on the Cross that counts, Man has done enough.

    Sirman, Your not as smart as you worship you are. I don’t hate you for calling us Christians fools but I rather be a fool for Christ than to be a fool without Him.

    I want respond back to your non-sense comments.

    Reply
  • 27. Laurel McLean  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Thankyou.
    I hadn’t heard of this discussion.
    I am delighted to hear of this acceptance.

    Reply
  • 28. Gus Menendez.  |  March 29, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I just want to say thet, IT WAS ABOUT TIME

    Reply
  • 29. Slrman  |  April 12, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Gigi I am stuck on truth, facts, and logic. You are stuck on believing what cannot possibly be true. Like all the religious reich, instead of engaging in honest and open debate, you attack the messenger because you cannot produce even one iota of evidence that anything you profess to believe is fact.

    Try taking responsibility for your own life and future and stop wasting time on what cannot ever be demonstrated to be even remotely possible, If you had any such proof, you would offer to engage in reasonable discussion. I have offered that many times, only to be attacked personally.

    Reply
  • 30. Ms. OJ.  |  April 12, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    I know when I read my bible it never said that God created Adam and Steve. I do not hate anyone nor will I ever judge anyone who chose to be with the same sex. I will leave that to God, but let us let those people who believe and do not believe in the bible be treated the same way. Ms. OJ.

    Reply
  • 31. Jim  |  April 13, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Hope you not think I judged OJ. God already called Homo’s Lifestyle an abomination. Therefore it’s Nasty to me.
    I learnt that it’s not good to cast our pearls to those who reject the Salvation message. I learnt that they choose to be pigs because they only desire to wallow in the mud what is good. Man with swollen heads never remember history as man before who had no heart for God marched on with there puny brain to bury God with there intellect. Never was achieved, never will be.
    JesUSAves is a Christians job God gave to those who trust Him. Man has a choice to believe or disbelieve. Our job is finished and there blood not be on our hands if they to choose death to God.
    Lost man thinks he has the power to put God in there mind or under a microscope or in a box or a Jeanies Lamp to rub him the right way for there wimps. There is only one Way to Heaven and few that will find it. There is a place of shame for those who spend their lives with this mindset who reject God from their heart. We all hope people choose life but many as God knows will not. Vengence is the Lord’s as we suffer to bring the Good News, JesUSAves.

    Reply
  • 32. HalfGay  |  April 18, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    I love Rev Bacon! When I saw this on Oprah, I broke down crying. It was relieving to hear someone say that publically who was a priest no less.

    Reply
  • 33. Marcus Williams  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    god never got the comment to me that I mattered or should survive. I did. I became a doctor. I had a family and I care not to live. I have no gay friend or love and I feel so empty as if to die and cease to exist would be fine. It’s SOLUTION, INTO THE FIRE.

    Reply
  • 34. Jim  |  April 28, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Death is no Solution to find fulness of a heart that is reserved for God only. He’s the only Way home that’s out of this World. No one or no thing is ever enough. God is greater than all.

    Reply
  • 35. ariel allera  |  April 29, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Ariel Allera: Yes, Being Gay is a Gift from God… And why not?

    What Ed Bacon and Michael Beckwith said on Oprah is the most liberating and heartwarming statement I’ve ever heard on homosexuality. I’ve never hidden myself in the closet so that after I watched that particular episode on YouTube, I’m now as enlightened as both a gay male citizen in the Philippines and a human being, let alone God’s child. I believe in the Bible and of course in the Word of God, and I know we have to live according to His will. What’s in the Bible can be as broad as far as our minds should be, and so there’s more to it than what it could literally mean. What is definitely for certain (and a hundred-percent the true) is that God’s love is unconditional so that so long as we are at peace with the Lord, no matter what we do or what our decisions are, we will always be guided and should never get lost, and that includes where the thought of being gay is concerned which is, thankfully, a gift from God. Hence, God bless all the gays on earth. (ariel_allera@yahoo.com)

    Reply
  • 36. Bart Cart  |  May 25, 2009 at 6:13 am

    It’s nice that church is slowly trying to change its point of view. It was only a matter of time in my opinion.

    Reply
  • 37. PB  |  May 27, 2009 at 12:50 am

    I just want to say thet, IT WAS ABOUT TIME

    Reply
  • 38. Jim  |  May 27, 2009 at 4:42 am

    Well folks who are not ashamed now will be ashamed later when the sick body dies and all will face the Lord.
    Homo’s is a crime against nature and folks like this war to prevert the good God has made. Any church who changes to please the Homo’s is an enemy to God and is not a true church. Narrow is the Way and a few that will find it.
    After the World honors the Homo’s then next man will war to marry there dogs or horses. Dads to there daughters. Mothers to there Sons… SICK.
    The day foretold is already upon us that Christians will be threw into prisons and killed for there testimony’s. I fear no man that can only destroy the body, rather I fear God that can destroy both soul and body.
    Laugh people and march with this sick preverting war. Spit on me. Hate Christians who started our nation with in God we trust. KILL KILL KILL as foretold and God will not wink at you and honor you into Heaven.
    In the end, ________God Wins!

    Reply
  • 39. HalfGay  |  May 29, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Jim – your reply is confusing (incorrect spelling and grammar) and disturbing. Is there really any reason for your hatred?

    Reply
  • 40. Bigheart  |  July 2, 2009 at 5:02 am

    Rev Ed Bacon, homosexuality is an abomination. PERIOD. Trying to beautify and justify it is just a plain waste of time. I love you all guys, gays, halfgays and all.

    Reply
  • 41. Jim  |  July 4, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Hatred? for telling the truth. Not telling the truth is hatred.
    You are blind from the truth or else my reply wouldn’t be confusing.
    If your eyes would leak for truth then there goes the swollen head that blinds and also the condemnation of my bad grammar.
    Amen to Bighearts reply of truth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AddThis Feed Button
Political Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 815,976 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

