Larry Kramer Asks “Why Are We So Passive?”

October 4, 2007 at 12:22 pm 5 comments

I snagged this video clip of Larry Kramer from Knuckle Crack.

Larry is, of course, doing what he does best: exhorting LGBT people to take serious and smart action to achieve our civil rights.

Says Eric Leven, the bloggerlicious creator of Knuckle Crack:

He touches on points of community passivity, our ass-kissing approach to presidential candidates, the black-hole of Gay representation in modern education, and finally the similarities between Jewish and Gay oppression. This is dedicated to all my friends who roll their eyes at me and tell me I’m beating a dead horse.

Entry filed under: Advocacy, LGBT, Politics, Video, YouTube.

The Politics of Politics Fred Thompson on How He’d Stop Gay Marriage

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christopher  |  October 4, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    I loves me some Larry Kramer.

    This faggot is here to say there ain’t nuttin’ remotely passive bout’ my bones and if people don’t like my “in-your-face-take-no-hostages” style, well they can suck my dick because I’ve had it with this country trying to make me and mine second-class citizens.

    Reply
  • 2. Bloggernista  |  October 4, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Christopher, I am taking your comment to mean that you are not passive, is that right?

    Reply
  • 3. Paulbe  |  October 5, 2007 at 12:50 am

    When the US Government shovels billions in taxpayer wealth into San Francisco like it does to Israel then I’ll swallow the idea about similarities with Gay and Jewish oppression. Plenty of Jews wish us just as dead, and we don’t own the Pentagon.

    Reply
  • 4. Christopher  |  October 5, 2007 at 5:28 am

    Michael, ROFL! Love ya.’!

    Reply
  • 5. proudprogressive  |  October 5, 2007 at 9:49 am

    We all have so so much to learn from Larry Kramer, back in the 80’s i was living in NY and I got the ACT UP in my blood, formed a group upstate and men women and TGs all of us UNITED…even though at the time it was called a GALA – all were welcome. That was over 20 yrs ago . WE knew divided we would fall , there was NO room for seperateness – not as a movement , we could do that in our private time. …. and dammit realize power structures (which are now on steroids ie the fundie voting ploys ) are not gonna give an inch – WE gottta demand it. use our voices , our money , and get out there. Educate , even our own sometimes..ie. NO the T is not negoiable…
    I gotta wonder why are these Dems bringing up ENDA now and what the hell is someone insider like “aviris” thinking when he would try to split us….and make us launch into a course on gender theory….during this fight…jeebus. I thought most people got that its all about gender bending…to the haters…(i guess not) Still that entitiled white male in him….and its not fully his fualt – hell we are born who we are..maybe its more the washington insider in him..just made my blood boil..

    We better do a quick catch up course for the kids or for those who missed it – on gender theory and our movement…Its not just about HIV and Larry always knew this..for sure…I love Larry too, in fact a post on ACT UPS 20 yr anniversary was one of my very first blog posts.

    vote Kucinich and have a true friend in Washington. !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AddThis Feed Button
Political Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 832,871 hits

Archives


