Obama Calls for Repeal of Military’s Ban on Gay Soldiers

October 7, 2007 at 12:10 am 15 comments

obama.jpg

At a campaign appearance in Charles City, Iowa, Barack Obama called for the repeal of the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell policy that prohibits openly gay and lesbian Americans from serving in the military.

Anybody who is willing to serve our country and die on a battlefield for us and our patriots, that’s the criteria for whether or not they should be able to serve in our military. England doesn’t have this policy. Israel doesn’t have this policy. It’s an outdated policy.

Entry filed under: 2008 Election, Barack Obama, Campaigns, LGBT, Military, Politics. Tags: , , , , , , .

Republican Senators Knew About Larry Craig Larry Craig to Join Idaho Hall of Fame

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christopher  |  October 7, 2007 at 7:13 am

    Another reason why I like this man.

    Everytime I wear my OBAMA 2008 navy blue T-shirt out and about, I get positive feedback from perfect strangers.

    Not a one says, “Hey, we’re in New York state and this is Hillaryland or Rudyland.” I am amazed at how much people like Obama.

    Iowa should tell us much.

    Reply
  • 2. Bloggernista  |  October 7, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Iowa is going to be key for all of the Democrats. Obama has to turn the excitement that is generating into actual votes.

    Reply
  • 3. Christopher  |  October 7, 2007 at 10:44 am

    I have this fantasy of a GORE/OBAMA 2008 ticket.

    If Gore decides not to enter the race, then I want Obama in the White House.

    He’s terrific.

    Reply
  • 4. karen  |  October 7, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    He definitely has my vote. Obama and Gore. Wow. That is a dream team. I need to get one of those tshirts.

    Reply
  • 5. Bloggernista  |  October 7, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    Gore/Obama is a dream team indeed. Now, if only we could convince Gore to run.

    Reply
  • 6. David Mariner  |  October 7, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    Hey Michael,

    If he opposes the Military’s ban on gay soldiers, why the hell hasn’t he introduced legislation in the Senate to end the ban?

    Legislation has been introduced in the House, but not yet in the Senate.

    We’re still waiting for someone like Obama or Clinton to show ACTUAL LEADERSHIP and introduce the Senate side chirping.

    Obama does not get credit in my book for saying the right things on the campaign trail if his ACTIONS don’t reflect his WORDS.

    David Mariner

    Reply
  • 7. Mad Professah  |  October 7, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    I agree with David Mariner. And I would also point out that Hillary said these words about the ban on gays in the military months ago.

    Reply
  • 8. mackvoldo  |  October 7, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    I’m for Obama and if he helps repeal that silly ban, then I’m definitely for him.

    Reply
  • 9. Bloggernista  |  October 7, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    David,

    Its also important to remember that John Edwards did not introduce repeal legislation when he was in the Senate either.

    We need more action from Democrats on LGBT issues period.

    Reply
  • 10. abarclay12  |  October 7, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    He’s got my vote too. I like what he says about anyone willing to serve for us on the battlefield has the criteria for serving in the military.

    Reply
  • 11. fitnessfortheoccasion  |  October 8, 2007 at 12:02 am

    Obama deserves the utmost praise for this position.
    Unfortunately it doesn’t wash away his non vote on the Iran issue.

    Reply
  • 12. fitnessfortheoccasion  |  October 8, 2007 at 12:02 am

    (By the by, I dig the new look)

    Reply
  • 13. Bloggernista  |  October 8, 2007 at 3:12 am

    Looks like we have similar tastes in templates.

    Reply
  • 14. BM  |  October 11, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    I’m not exactly sure who to vote for. What I do konw is that it’s time for a democrat who is willing to extend me equal rights. I’ve served the military now for three years. It has been three of the toughest I have ever had to face. The training, early mornings and strict discipline came easy. I actually enjoy getting dirty and bruised for this country. My struggles have been in my dignity. I come from a very loving family that never ostrasized me in any way. So when I came into the military I found I needed to closet myself. It took some adjusting, but with time I was okay. I found friends I could be out to and I was comfortable. It wasn’t until I tried dating did I realize it would never work. The demands of anyone serving makes a relationshipe hard, but to be gay makes it nearly impossible at times. There have even been some scary run ins. At one point I was involved with another Soldier who became volitile following our break up. One night he snuck into my room, he was drunk, and he tried to force himself one. I didn’t press charges or really tell anyone. Sure I was afraid of him and I wanted jusice, but I was even more scared I would be outed and kicked out of the military. I know quite a few people who have been in similar situations, been discriminated against or even contracted VD and felt some what hopeless since they were afraid of being outed. The don’t ask don’t policy is doing nothing, but weakening our Army. Our readiness is down because of the anxiety Gay Soldiers face on a day to day basis simply because they might want to do something more for their selves or their country. I pray every night things will change and I hope more people will get involved in changing this country. I serve to protect you guys.

    Reply
  • 15. Bloggernista  |  October 11, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    BM, the DADT policy will change. Its just a matter of time. More and more people are realizing that the policy is wrong and completely unworkable.

    Thank you for your service.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AddThis Feed Button
Political Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 833,200 hits

Archives


