Coming Out in Color: Herndon Davis

October 11, 2007 at 11:46 am 2 comments

In celebration of National Coming Out Day I am running a series of posts focusing LGBT people of color and their coming out experiences.

My Coming Out Experience

By Herndon Davis. Herndon is the communications director for the National Black Justice Coalition

When I came out, the Black LGBT community was still imprisoned by its homophobia with a padlock of racism while the white community seemed to happily skip its way into societal acceptance.

For many years I lived in the gay neighborhoods of Atlanta. Sometimes I would encounter a fierce resistance by Black LGBT to come into town or to even be seen in public with me. Instead of having our first date at a coffee house or restaurant, instead there was a push to meet in a parking lot or at each other’s apartments.

Then there were Black LGBT who I met who were out and proud with the exception of Sunday mornings. In fact I was once one of those individuals myself. But times have changed and thank God so have I.

After writing a book for Black LGBT encouraging them to not only stand up to their biblical foes, but to come out societally and to their families; I have seen great movements within our community over a relatively short period of time.

Everyday I witness the liberation of my brothers and sisters and I see growth and strength as we find each other and share our experiences through the magic and the mechanics of the internet and cable television.

The Black LGBT voices are becoming more refined and our strategy more focused and I honestly wouldn’t want to exist in any other shape or form than what I am, an openly gay and proud black man!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Coming Out in Color: Pauline Park Coming Out in Color: Sergio

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Iranian Ajax  |  January 21, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Why must you perpetually advertise your “sexuality”? For example on the St. Patty’s day parade….do you seee people saying “IM IRISH AND STRAIGHT!!!” It is a cultural parade and has NOTHING to do with sexuality!

    Perversion is the best word to describe the gay life style.

    Iranian Ajax

    Reply
  • 2. bentcrude  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    please consider doing the interview and sharing your coming out story on my blog – stories are also published on http://www.queerlife.co.za

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AddThis Feed Button
Political Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 833,200 hits

Archives


