What Did I Do to Piss Off Log Cabin Republicans?

August 26, 2008 at 4:08 pm 7 comments

In a post I wrote for LGBT for Obama, I seemed to have gotten the attention of Log Cabin Republican communications director Scott Tucker with my criticisms of John McCain.

In my post about the draft 2008 GOP Platform calling for a constitutional amendment to ban same-sex marriage, I say:

I admit that our friends at Log Cabin Republicans are in a serious bind. Their party’s nominee has opposed LGBT civil rights at every turn while Barack Obama has issued the strongest LGBT platform of any presidential nominee from a major party.

I feel bad for them. I really do.

But, the leaders of LCR have a very clear choice to make: they can either stand with the Republican Party even as it continues its assault against LGBT Americans or they can stand with their LGBT brothers and sisters who are fighting every day to live their lives openly and honestly and free from anti-LGBT discrimination.

Apparently that call to our LCR friends not to endorse McCain who has opposed every piece of LGBT legislation that has come his way has made LCR a little defensive:

I understand that progress with the GOP is not moving nearly as fast as Mr. Crawford and many would like. I understand that. I understand it is frustrating. But I guess we have a fundamental difference as to what we should do with that frustration. Some, like Mr. Crawford, say we should throw our hands up and stop engaging in conversations with Republicans. Well, if we followed that course of action (which we won’t), I’d say good luck to you in your endeavor to achieve “equality” for gay and lesbian Americans, Mr. Crawford. No civil rights struggle has been won with a one-party strategy…and neither will this one.

You may hate EVERYTHING the Republican Party stands for. But don’t malign the efforts of good, decent gay and lesbian Republicans who are doing work for “our movement” that you would never have the courage to do.

In his post Scott Tucker does little to defend John McCain abysmal record on LGBT issues and instead goes after me.

Scott, let me be clear. I don’t consider you or any LGBT Republicans to be an enemy. And, I have great respect for you for fighting to advance LGBT issues in the GOP. That is, when you are doing that work.

An endorsement of John McCain by LCR would not be standing strong for your stated commitment to LGBT equality. It would be a sign that you are willing to support a candidate who has opposed LGBT equality at every turn simply because he is a Republican.

So, be frustrated and angry with me. But, use that anger to show me that I am wrong by convincing more Republicans to stand up for LGBT civil rights.

Entry filed under: 2008 Election, Advocacy, Conservatives, John McCain, LGBT, Politics, Republicans. Tags: , , , , .

Message to Log Cabin – “You Gotta Be Kiddin” “Friends” – LGBT People on Barack Obama

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Harmonika Savingsbonds  |  August 27, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Gay Republican should be shoved away in a box somewhere. Give them the torture that asshole McCain missed the message on.

    USELESS, USELESS, USELESS people, every one of them.

    Reply
  • 2. You guys are ignorant  |  August 28, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    No, it’s the ignorant people who should be shoved in a box. The people with a chip on their shoulder that prevents their brain from receiving oxygen.
    The Republican party is based on limited government. That has nothing to do with being anti-gay. The governor of California is a Republican and he made it legal for us to get married in California. So I guess we’re not that useless in California.
    But there’s plenty of states out there with Democrat governors that haven’t made gay marriage legal yet, so please show me how useful you guys are. I’m waiting.

    Reply
  • 3. Michael Crawford  |  August 28, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Wow! You need to go back and read news reports of how marriage was legalized in CA. It had nothing to do with the Governor. The decision was made by the California Supreme Court.

    Governor Arnold had two chances to make history by signing into law a marriage equality bill that was passed by the state’s legislature and twice he vetoed the bill.

    As for your comment about Democratic governors, take a look at Massachusetts were again marriage was made legal by a court decision. But, the Democratic governor Deval Patrick moved heaven and earth to prevent an anti-gay marriage constitutional amendment from making it on the ballot. In his campaign for governor, he also made his support for marriage equality crystal clear.

    Reply
  • 4. Christopher  |  August 29, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Michael,

    The Log Cabin Repugs are douchebags.

    They’re not the smartest bulbs in the box. I am convinced they’re suffering from Stockholm Syndrome.

    Reply
  • 5. sean Crowley  |  August 30, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Call me a lioberal hetero with 6 kids and a house and car i can barely afford on a teacher’s and a part time nurse’s salary but the phrase gay republicans strikes me as rather oxymoronic. Unless these folks are at the very far end of the M side of SnM and they really enjoy being dissed, blown off, insulted and all but chased into a flaming pit at gunpoint, how do any alternative lifestyle (forgive that nerdy phrase)people go into the booth and flick the switches with elephants on them thinking their interests are going to be considered ?

    Reply
  • 6. Steve  |  August 31, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    I sounds to me like some are forgetting that conservative and liberal views are multifaceted and not some single issue focus. As a queer man I wholly support and look forward to the future when we will be seen and treated as equals with our heterosexual counterparts. With that said I do have some stances on which I am more conservative (i.e. gun control, death penalty, animal rights). Does this make me a hypocrite? I think not. Rather, I am a person who acknowledges the complexity of my own feelings and beliefs and who can admit that those who do not agree with me are not wrong but different from me. It is by interacting with each other and learning how to negotiate that we will be able to move forward towards a brighter future for us all.

    Reply
  • 7. Michael Crawford  |  August 31, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Steve,

    I do understand that people are multi-faceted and have many and sometimes conflicting views on political issues.

    My point is that the Log Cabin Republicans says that they “courageously stand on the front lines of today’s most important battleground for gay and lesbian civil rights. We are the nation’s leading voice for fairness, inclusion, and tolerance in the GOP.” If that is the case, then it would be against their stated mission to endorse McCain who has not support any pro-LGBT piece of legislation.

    Just as LCR did not endorse President Bush in 2004 because he advocated for the Federal Marriage Amendment, they should display the same courage and not endorse McCain who is on record as opposing gays serving openly in the military, gay people adopting kids, legal recognition of same-sex relationships and who has said that the supports the anti-gay constitutional amendments pending in AZ, CA and FL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AddThis Feed Button
Political Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 833,201 hits

Archives


