Larry Kramer Calls for a “Gay Army”

March 17, 2007 at 10:29 pm 7 comments

Here is the full video of the recent speech by the amazing Larry Kramer, founder of ACT UP. The speech was delivered in honor of the 20th anniversary of ACT UP. In this speech, Larry calls for a renewed and more vigorous gay and AIDS activism. This call lead to the recent protest against the military’s ban on openly gay soldiers and the homophobic remarks by General Pace who called homosexuality immoral.

I owe my start in activism to the inspiring work of people like Larry, Ann Northup, Peter Staley and Michelangelo Signorile who put their bodies on the line to fight for our right to live and to love who we want.

This clip is long, but definitely worth watching.

Entry filed under: Advocacy, HIV/AIDS, LGBT, Politics, Video, YouTube.

How Much Does Romney Dislike Gays? Blowing Up a (Political) Spot

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John  |  March 18, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    Every gay person in the U.S. should watch this.

    Reply
  • 2. Dan Glenn  |  March 18, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I caught this myself via YouTube, and while I agreed with 99.6% of everything that Larry Kramer said, in fact, I actually felt vindicated by what he said, for I have been saying some similar things myself,(The idea that our government can indefinitely hold someone without a trial scares the hell out of me.) he didn’t provide his listeners with the tools to create this ‘brave new world’ of ACT UP. In fact, I felt so moved to do something after watching his speech that I googled their website, only to find ACTUP.org is available for sale. ACT UP NYC offered only information for fighting AIDS. Where to turn?

    Reply
  • 3. Pedro Morgado  |  March 19, 2007 at 8:40 am

    Nice cartoon!

    Reply
  • 4. bloggernista  |  March 19, 2007 at 9:00 am

    Dan, ACT UP was originally founded to fight AIDS. I think that Larry is really calling for something new that speaks to issues inclusive, but not confined to, HIV. Search for Queer Justice League. That’s a new thing that partnered with ACT UP to do last week’s protest against the military ban.

    Reply
  • 5. Larry Kramer Interview « Bloggernista  |  March 21, 2007 at 6:00 am

    […] View Larry’s recent speech that sparked a vigorous rally to protest the homophobic comments by General Peter Pace and the ban on gays in the military here. […]

    Reply
  • 6. Serena Brown  |  April 3, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    After reading Larry Kramers March 20, 2007 LA Times article. I sat here and pondered how is it possible that Larry can think that all straight people hate gays? This is so not true. I love my brother, cousins and my best friend and am so proud of them for being who they are. Yes, I am a straight married woman who thinks that all people should get the rights and privilages to marry whom ever they choose. Please don’t classify me with the narrow minded people of the world. I have a voice and I speak often and loud about the injustices in our world. We all need to come together as a whole and change who we vote into office to speak on our behalf.

    Reply
  • 7. bloggernista  |  April 3, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    I disagree with Larry on that point as well. I know quite a few straight people who are down for LGBT equality.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AddThis Feed Button
Political Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 840,441 hits

Archives